Particle Physics in Birmingham

Particle Physics Seminar Programme


Particle Physics in Birmingham

Welcome to the University of Birmingham Particle Physics group seminars page.
Particle Physics Seminars are held on Wednesdays at 1:30pm in the Poynting Small Lecture Theatre (room S06).
The Poynting Building is at R13 on the campus map. Tea, coffee and biscuits are served at 1:15pm.

The agenda is also available at Talks@bham (but this page is updated first).

Speaker suggestions, offers of talks or enquires are very welcome! Please contact Tonino Sergi or Ian Kenyon.

Autumn Term 2016

Date Speaker Institute Title Information
28th September Tony Price Birmingham University Applications of Particle Physics to Medicine in UK [abs]   [pdf]
5th October Jennifer Thomas University College MINOS+, NOVA and CHIPS [abs]   [pdf]
12th October Miriam Watson Birmingham University ICHEP Review [abs]   [pdf]
19th October Dinesh Srivastava VECC Kolkata Discovery of the Quark-Gluon Plasma [abs]   
26th October Vitaly Kudryavtsev Sheffield University Dark Matter Searches with LUX-ZEPLIN [abs]   [pdf]
2nd November Evgueni Goudzovski Birmingham University Kaon Experiments at CERN: Recent Results and Prospects [abs]   
9th November Jaap Velthuis Bristol University Volcanoes and other things that go boom... applications of muon tomography [abs]   
16th November Marco Gersabeck CERN Recent Highlights and Prospects for Quark Flavour Physics at LHCb [abs]   
23rd November Vasiliki Kouskoura BNL Search for Scalar Partner of Top in Jets+ETmiss Final State with ATLAS   
30th November Antonin Vacheret Imperial College London SoLid: Search for a new kind of Matter   
7th December Giulio D'Agostini Cambridge and Rome Universities Claims of Discoveries based on Sigmas [abs]   

Spring Term 2017

Date Speaker Institute Title Information
date start speaker University title   

Summer Term 2017

Date Speaker Institute Title Information
date speaker University title   

Seminars from previous years:
  2015-16     2014-15     2013-14     2012-13     2011-12     2010-11     2009-10     2008-9     2007-8     2006-7     2005-6  
2004-5 2003-4 2002-3 2001-2 2000-1 1999-2000