Particle Physics in Birmingham

Mike Kosterlitz; Nobel Laureate 2016

Particle Physics Seminar Programme


Particle Physics in Birmingham

David Thouless; Nobel Laureate 2016

Welcome to the University of Birmingham Particle Physics group seminars page.
Particle Physics Seminars are held on Wednesdays at 1:30pm in the Poynting Small Lecture Theatre (room S06).
The Poynting Building is at R13 on the campus map. Tea, coffee and biscuits are served at 1:15pm.

The agenda is also available at Talks@bham (but this page is updated first).

Speaker suggestions, offers of talks or enquires are very welcome! Please contact Chris Parkinson or Ian Kenyon.

Autumn Term 2019

Date Speaker Institute Title Information
2nd October Raffaella Radogna University College Calorimetry for Proton Beam Therapy [abs]   
9th October Tom Neep Birmingham University TBA   
16th October Samuel Webb Imperial College CMS Review   
23rd October Patrick Dunne Imperial College High Pressure Gas TPCs   
30th October Sean Paling UKRI STFC, Boulby Mine Science at Boulby Underground Laboratory: Studies at the UK’s Deep Underground Science Facility. [abs]   
6th November Patrick Knights Birmingham University Dark Matter Search using NEWSG   
13th November Chris McCabe King's College, London Dark Matter   
20th November Orlando Villalobos-Baillie Birmingham University Review of Bari Conference   
27th November Bill Murray CERN Future Circular Colliders   
4th December Jakub Scholtz Durham University Baryogenesis   
11th December Eva Vilella-Figueras Liverpool University DMAPS Sensors   

Spring Term 2020

Date Speaker Institute Title Information
5th February Jeff Forshaw Manchester University Probability and Sign in Quantum Field Theory   
11th March Ioannis Manthos CERN PICOSEC Micromegas Detector   
18th March Leigh Whitehead Cambridge University Searches for Sterile Neutrinos   

Summer Term 2020

Date Speaker Institute Title Information
date speaker Institution Title   

Seminars from previous years:
  2018-19     2017-18     2016-17     2015-16     2014-15     2013-14     2012-13     2011-12     2010-11     2009-10     2008-9  
  2007-8     2006-7     2005-6   2004-5 2003-4 2002-3 2001-2 2000-1 1999-2000